Historical Summary

Dixie Region  1966-1996

On September 25, 1966 an application was filed with the AACA National Headquarters, requesting a charter for the Dixie Region. On October 15, 1966 the AACA Board of Directors approved the application and the charter was granted. The leadership at that time was as follows:
Joseph R Hamilton           Director
James D. Marlar                 Assistant Director
William Gains                      Secretary
Joseph T. George              Treasurer

By Laws
Club records from 1966 to 1970 are missing.  However, a document dated July 23, 1971 suggests that the Dixie Region had not perfected its Charter by adopting By Laws. On July 23, 1971 the following persons were elected to positions of leadership in the Dixie Region:

Director                                 William (Bill) Kinzalow
Assistant Director             Fred Headrick
Secretary                               William Gains
Treasurer                              Art Bolton
Board of Directors            James (Jimmy) Jones
                                                   James Davis
                                                   Dan Hartzog

On July 23, 1971, the club listed 28 members in “good standing”. At a special meeting on October 15, 1971, By Laws were presented by the Board and accepted by unanimous vote of the members in attendance.

The first official monthly meeting of the Dixie Region was a Membership Tea on December 12, 1971 at the Roebuck Recreation Center in the East lake area of Birmingham. Region officers and Directors were presented to the membership, and 26 new members were welcomed.

Throughout its history, the members of the Dixie Region have consistently been interested in two things: touring and eating.  Club meetings generally take place at the dinner hour and usually consist of short business sessions following the meal. Tours have always been popular with the membership, and in the mid 1970’s, the Dixie Region hosted a number of invitational meets, including a National Meet in 1974 and again in 1983.

Over the years, communications have varied from memos distributed by Officers to exceptional newsletters.  The Region’s newsletter, the EXHAUST WHISTLE, has been edited by many members and has received many awards for the quality of the newsletter.

In 1989 and 1990, John Myer served two terms as President to the Dixie Region and actively recruited new members for a Region that had grown some what laconic. From approximate 15 active members to over 72 persons in 1994.  In 1996 the membership stood at 100.

Great Southern Region  name change 2023

Dixie Region Past Presidents

1966  Joseph R. Hamilton
1970  Edward C. Todd
1972  Bill Kinzalow
1973  Fred Headrick
1974  James South
1975  J. O. Rains
1976  Bill Gaines
1977  Ken Cochrane
1978  Arthur Bolton
1979  James South
1980  John Gerwin
1981  Ernest W. Gauld
1982  Ernest W. Gauld
1983  Ernest W. Gauld
1984  Imogene T. Davis
1985  Paul T. Huck
1986  Michael Jones
1987  Michael Jones
1988  Ernest W. Gould
1989  John P. Myer
1990  John P. Myer
1991  Thomas Kimbrough
1992  Gene Wilkinson
1993  Leo Hyche
1994  Nancy S. Myer
1995  Robert Hinds
1996  Jan Hyche





Birmingham and Montgomery Alabama's Local Antique Automobile Club